Since coming to China, we’ve had so many different cuisines to choose from. Believe it or not there’s everything from Thai, Brazilian BBQ, Korean BBQ, Vietnamese, local Chinese, American burgers, NY-style pizza, organic salad, Tex-Mex…and the list goes on! If you haven’t guessed by now, we’re in an area heavily populated by all kinds of foreigners! 

Today we got lunch at an inexpensive, westernized Chinese restaurant. Two orders of soup dumplings, one pan fried noodle dish and one spicy peanut chicken dish. Since I was a kid, I’ve always been a picky eater. (Correction: super duper picky). Though it’s been obnoxious to my parents and fellow diners, today my keen eye for spotting things I don’t like in my food (i.e. cilantro, fatty tissue, tomatoes) came in handy! Mixed in with our pan fried noodles was a well-marinated fly! Long story short, I haven’t felt the need to cook much here since there are so many options to choose from; however, after today’s lunch I have decided it is time to break in the kitchen! After lunch I headed over to the grocery store and purchased groceries enough for the next two days. I’ll keep you posted on how things go! 

